Digital Divide: Does it Still Exist?

THIS Is the link to my VoiceThread.

THIS is my Google Slide document in my 501 Shared folder on Google Drive.

THIS is my Google document with the script for my speaker notes.

I live in two worlds, one as an educator and another as a parent.  I find myself torn in different directions when it comes to hot-button topics.  While I may feel passionately about something on the whole, I may not agree completely for one of my children.  I also hear parents’ concerns at neighborhood gatherings and am often questioned my opinion on some of these concerns.  I chose this topic as what I felt my become the new “digital divide” since the old definition is fading quickly.  Why does there appear to be a disconnect between the parents and educators/lawmakers?  What are the parents’ genuine concerns?  Do educators and/or lawmakers care about parents’ concerns?  How can we avoid creating a further “divide”?  These are just a few items I addressed when I created a survey on SurveyMonkey.  100 people were surveyed and provided wonderful responses to my questions.

In relation to the assignment and the multimedia principles used, I learned a little more about using Google Slides.  While I am not that impressed with it, I can see how it has it’s place in sharing and viewing with a group.  As a actual presentation tool, there are clearly many more platforms that are just better.  When the slide was exported as a .pdf, it lost all ability to use transitions and other more powerful ways of emphasizing information on the slide.

I suppose I had never really considered the actual term of “digital divide” but as I studied many many many graphics, I was impressed by how small our world is truly becoming.  The “divide” is shrinking and it is amazing.  What the definition of 10 years ago is fading, there certainly are new aspects to consider.  I had never really considered the cost of the infrastructure, the maintenance of devices, or even basic connectivity to keep a school full of wi-fi enabled devices up and running.

I learned  a lot from my survey.  In the future I will likely strive to help parents embrace rather than resist the technology.  It is here to stay.  Either we can fight it, or learn with it.  There are so many wonderful aspects of technology  when kept in moderation.  As a teacher, I hope to be able to keep perspective and balance with both active play, reading real books with real paper, using pencils and paper to draw and only using the devices as necessary.  Because I AM both a parent and an educator, I know that I do have some power of persuasiveness.  I love technology, I am in this program because I believe in it.  I have  used in the classroom as a means for quick assessment purposes and I love that those assessments can help steer me in the right direction for planning, teaching and re-teaching.

I felt like I had plenty of time to accomplish this assignment.  What I did not anticipate was getting sick when it was time to put the VoiceThread together.  I had to record and re-record over and over due to coughing fits and scratchy-throat syndrome.  I am not a person to leave anything to the last minute because I like time to have my instructors evaluate and give me feedback on my work so I can improve my grade if I need to.  This assignment will be a tough one to improve delivery on because I just cannot stop coughing.  Oh well…

One thought on “Digital Divide: Does it Still Exist?

  1. Hi Jen,
    I was very impressed by the amount of work you put into your presentation. It was an interesting idea to survey the people you knew about their use of the internet and their view of how their children use the internet.
    What struck me was that you took the viewpoint that the divide was something that was self-imposed, rather than the result of extrinsic factors. Parents show resistance to accepting digitization into their households and that of their children for a wide variety of reasons, and you outlined these reasons very well.
    This is an aspect of the digital divide that I hadn’t actually considered, as I was focused on people’s inability to make good use of the internet. It seems to me that people’s ability to choose the extent to which they and/or their children take part in the digital universe is already a sign that the divide is under their control. Someone who chooses when or how or whether to use the internet is someone, from my viewpoint, who has some mastery over his or her digital destiny, and therefore isn’t a victim of the digital divide, but an actor.
    Concerning multimedia principles, I found that the slides where there was less writing were the slides I was able to focus the most on, because I wasn’t busy trying to read and listen to your narration at the same time.
    Thanks for letting me read and listen to your point of view.
    Mohamed

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

