541 “I Am” Poem

I Am

by Jen Crook

I am a smart mother of four
I wonder what my future will hold
I hear the sweet sounds of snoring children
I see the end of the Master’s Degree in sight
I want more and more education
I am a smart mother of four

I pretend that I am not 42 but really 22
I feel trapped in an aging body
I touch more gray hairs
I worry that my son will never be healthy
I cry from stress and overloaded emotional burdens
I am a smart mother of four

I understand that I cannot do everything
I say that miracles do happen
I dream that I will be free of mental illness
I try to stay positive in times of trial
I hope I survive my journey with strength and dignity
I am a smart mother of four

crook-32

#edtech541

Leave a Reply

